Trav’s Race Build: from B6 to Big Bore BP-Z3

MX5 Car Clubs of Australia

Moderators: timk, Stu, zombie, Andrew, The American, Lokiel, -alex, miata, StanTheMan, greenMachine, ManiacLachy, Daffy

Scoota
Fast Driver
Vehicle: NA6

Trav’s Race Build: from B6 to Big Bore BP-Z3

Postby Scoota » Sat Aug 24, 2019 8:36 pm

Hi Folks.

I’m getting in pretty deep on a serious upgrade to my race car, so I thought I’d share. Maybe I can help others, and most likely you can help me along the way too.

I’ve been belting my NA6 around Victorian race tacks for a few years now, and it’s been super fun. It’s been super reliable too, but some small niggles recently really got me thinking about the future. Also...

I’m going to Mt Panaorama!!!

So.... To cut a long story short, I have embarked on an epic upgrade project involving a new weld-in roll cage and a proper engine build. It’s going to be a fire breathing high compression big-bore VVT BP-Z3, taken from the 2000-05 NB8B. I’m lashing cash fairly liberally, but my budget isn’t unlimited so boosting is not on the agenda at this stage.

This is where the story starts. Out with the trusty B6 (which has a failed gasket)...

...and out with the bolt-in cage...

...and out with pretty much everything!!!

Why am I doing all this now? Well, as I mentioned, I’m going to Mt Panorama in late November to take part in Challenge Bathurst. It’s a regulatory trial, similar to the Phillip Island 6-hour. Anyway, I’ll be doing warp speed on the track with about another 60 cars of varying abilities, from Daihatsu Sirions to Porsches. The speed differential will be huge, and Mt Panorama has lots of concrete walls, so I’m keen for the warm fuzzy feeling of being in a fully caged car. Also, Bathurst is a power track, so what better time to go for a big bore engine swap!

So, I’ve made a start and I have a huge amount of work ahead of me, with not a lot of time to get it all done. It seems like a story worth sharing. I hope you enjoy it!!