Have you checked your insurance policy recently?

MX5 Car Clubs of Australia

Moderators: timk, Stu, zombie, Andrew, The American, Lokiel, -alex, miata, StanTheMan, greenMachine, ManiacLachy, Daffy

Lokiel
Forum legend
Vehicle: NB SE

Have you checked your insurance policy recently?

Postby Lokiel » Thu Apr 22, 2021 10:15 pm

My Shannon's car insurance was due this week and I was having issues accessing their website because it didn't accept my password and the website wasn't sending me the "Reset Password" mail message that it told me it had sent.
I had to call them up to sort the issue out and am I glad I did.

I've been insuring Gina with Shannons for the last 4 years and initially they would only insure her for A$16,000.
While I wasn't impressed with that, it did give me the option to be the first to "buy the wreck" which was definitely worth it given all my modz and the car wasn't going to be on the road much anyway.

The guy from Shannons informed me that my policy only valued the car at A$11,000 now due to the automatic yearly decrement in vehicle price which he said was ridiculous given all the modz and that NAs and NBs are holding their value better than many cars their policies cover.
Since I rarely drive the car, and won't DD it anyway once I've installed my latest modz, I re-negotiated the policy to $27,000 for a car that's dríven infrequently and it didn't cost me any more.

Bottom Line: It's definitely worth re-negotiating your car insurance annually if it's not a regular DD boring car. NAs and NBs are now being considered more valuable by some insurance companies than they were even 5 years ago.
Don't worry about dying, worry about not living!
Garage Thread: http://www.mx5cartalk.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=57&t=76716

greenMachine
Forum Guru

Re: Have you checked your insurance policy recently?

Postby greenMachine » Thu Apr 22, 2021 10:29 pm

Heartily endorse this.

:mrgreen:
I never met a horsepower I didn't like (thanks bwob)

Build thread