Getting started in time attack/ sprint events in SE QLD?

Anything to do with the MX5 and Motor Sport

Moderators: timk, Stu, zombie, Andrew, -alex, miata

RileyR
Fast Driver
Vehicle: NA8

Getting started in time attack/ sprint events in SE QLD?

Postby RileyR » Mon Feb 08, 2016 6:10 pm

Hi every one,
I now live in Toowoomba, QLD and I am looking to get involved in some time attack, sprint or similar events this year on tarmac. I am looking for time trial type events at the entry level to get some sealed track experience.

I am new to motorsports, but have been entering motorkhanas and khanacross type events for a couple of years now. I have also done some dirt sprints last year with IWMAC. Late last year I entered a ‘happy laps’ type event at Queensland Raceway and my daily dríven NA8 handled itself quite well, so I think it’s time to start exploring the ‘track’ side of things. I have also been getting into iRacing and built myself a full rig haha

I have come across the ‘Street Sprints’ ‘Midweek Sprints’ and the ‘Open Sprints’ which are held at QR and Lakeside. These events look great as they have road registered classes. I have searched for car clubs in the region that do sprints on sealed tracks but haven’t come up with much, mostly dirt sprints (which are great, don’t get me wrong).

I am just wondering if there are some locals of the region that know of some good clubs or events outside of these sprints at QR. Also, which series (out of the Street, Midweek or Open Sprints) would you recommend to a newcomer? Im a UNI bum so I can make it to the midweek sprints, which might be a good option due to there being less entrants?

Thanks for any advice :beer:
1996 BRG NA8

Magpie
Speed Racer
Vehicle: NA6

Re: Getting started in time attack/ sprint events in SE QLD?

Postby Magpie » Mon Feb 08, 2016 9:45 pm