Turn by Turn - Morgan Park Layout E

Queensland Motorsport

Moderators: timk, Andrew, miata, AJ, JBT

Magpie
Speed Racer
Vehicle: NA6

Turn by Turn - Morgan Park Layout E

Postby Magpie » Fri Aug 18, 2017 8:42 am

I'm no expert so take this post with a grain of salt.

At the SDT day on 16/08/17 a track walk was done from T4 (Gum Tree) to T6 (Siberia). It was very interesting to stand on the track and take the time to have a look around as well as discuss the correct line(s). There was a bit of debate on if T4 is a geometric mid point or very late apex, but in the end it was agreed that the apex can (and should move) based on your car setup as well as grip levels. For me it is a late apex.

Since the resurface of Morgan Park there are not many features that can be used to setup brake points.

This post is looking at where the track walk was done, I'll do the other corners over the weekend.

The red line is my current PB of 01:12.90 and the blue is a 1:13.21 done after the track walk.

T4 Brake - Track position is about the same. The change in the vector G at about 240m is the gear changes.

T4 Turn in - the blue line is carrying a bit more speed. vector G is about the same as is track position. Whilst it does look 'early' the car was traveling at 27.78 m/s, so in 2 seconds straight ahead would have been on the grass!

T4 Apex - much discussion on if this was an early or late apex. I have always treated T4 as a late apex (the screen shot supports this). May have take the 'suggested' line one day. Blue is pulling ahead because of the more speed carried into the corner. Looking at the radius, the blue line is starting to unwind steering whereas the red line is still turning.

T4 Exit - the blue line is a lot further out, and carrying more speed. Steering is almost fully unwound in the blue line, whereas the red line is still winding off steering. The blue line has made much better use of the track!