Electronic Boost Control - A discussion

Discussion regarding Turbocharged and supercharged MX-5s

Moderators: timk, Stu, zombie, The American, Lokiel, -alex, StanTheMan, greenMachine, ManiacLachy, Daffy, Sean

ManiacLachy
Forum Guru
Vehicle: NB SE

Electronic Boost Control - A discussion

Postby ManiacLachy » Thu Sep 09, 2021 9:48 am

I'm currently trying to tune closed loop electronic boost control on my car using a Megasquirt 3 ECU, I think it's pretty interesting (even if it is complicated) and thought it might be worth opening up for discussion in a new thread. I'll attempt to start quite general and informative, before becoming more specific. I'm no expert, I'm currently working through some of my own issues, hopefully this thread can be used for discussion and problem solving - and hopefully by putting my thoughts into writing I might even solve some of my own problems :mrgreen:

Hopefully others with more knowledge than me (Barton?) will step in to fill in the gaps, make corrections, generally take me/us to school.

Boost Control
So first, let's clarify what we're talking about. Boost control is a method of ensuring the turbo doesn't make more boost/pressure than either is within the efficiency of the turbo, or within the limits of the car (engine or driveline), or simply to match the goals of the user.

We can control boost in a variety of ways, wastegate, manual boost controller (MBC), or electronic boost controller (EBC).

Wastegate